Reading to baby

Image

Dr.s say its good to read to babies, it helps them pick up the language and creates a bond. This next section explains it all, it’s taken from Kidshealth.org

Reading aloud:

  • teaches a baby about communication
  • introduces concepts such as stories, numbers, letters, colors, and shapes in a fun way
  • builds listening, memory, and vocabulary skills
  • gives babies information about the world around them

Believe it or not, by the time babies reach their first birthday they will have learned all the sounds needed to speak their native language. The more stories you read aloud, the more words your child will be exposed to and the better he or she will be able to talk. Hearing words helps to build a rich network of words in a baby’s brain. Kids whose parents frequently talk/read to them know more words by age 2 than children who have not been read to. And kids who are read to during their early years are more likely to learn to read at the right time.

When reading, your child hears you using many different emotions and expressive sounds, which fosters social and emotional development. Reading also invites your baby to look, point, touch, and answer questions — all of which promote social development and thinking skills. And your baby improves language skills by imitating sounds, recognizing pictures, and learning words.

I’ve been reading to Emery since she was a little baby. We use to go to Borders for books, we would come back with 3 or 4 new ones. Mostly I get her thick cardboard books so she can play with them and turn the pages without them bending and ripping. Her books aren’t all in the best condition but I’m glad she enjoys them. In addition to reading I’m always talking to her, I don’t think I have ever spoke this much in my life! I’m constantly speaking to her about where we are going, colors, songs when we go on walks anything and everything. I think its really payed off, she knows a lot of words and picks up things I don’t even realize that I do!  Sometimes I think she isn’t learning something finally it will sink in and she starts saying it.

Right now her favorite book is, “Who Says Moo?”   It’s a dollar book we picked up on one of our Target trips. She reads along or by herself. She says, “You say moo? No. No say moo!” It’s so cute to me that shes listening and comprehends. I express myself as I’m reading to her with little voices or just a way to make it fun. Her wanting to read along to the books confirms I’m on the right path reading to her and buying all these books.  Shes really interested in the characters names and while we read I like to ask her what the colors are.

One of her other favorite books has pictures, colors, shapes, opposites, the alphabet and animals. She goes through the whole book asking me what each thing is and telling me all the ones she knows. She carries that big book around with her like a baby doll. I love that she loves books and wants me to read them to her. Reading is something I wish I liked to do in my spare time and I’m hoping making it fun for Emery and being interested in it for her will have her wanting to read when shes older.

In her room theres a corner dedicated to laying down and reading books. We have lots of pillows there and a few bird pillows that I made her. She grabs a book, scoots herself into the corner and pats the ground for me to sit next to her. As I lay down all nestled between her, her toy box & pillows I begin to read the books she has picked out. I usually can finish one short book before she wants to change the page or takes off for more books or toys. Its best to just continue reading, even if you dont think they’re paying attention. They hear the words and it expands their vocabulary.

Leave a Reply

