Embarrassing pregnancy stories

Status

If you’ve been pregnant or are pregnant chances are you have at least one embarrassing story. In the beginning I always feared going to the Doctor’s office and puking everywhere. I’m always in a panic, “okay where’s the garbage can, where’s the toilet, can I run there fast enough”. It gotten so bad I’ve brought a plastic bag from home in my purse just in case I had to throw up where I was with no warning. I decided to do a blog on this for two reasons – one being I saw a post recently asking women if they have had any bad experiences (guess what, they were all the same) and because yesterday it happened to me (again). Individually these stories sound bad, but talk to another pregnant women and she most likely has a story to follow your own. Please read a long at your own discretion.
Personally I don’t like to say throw up, I usually say “episode”, it sounds more polite and doesn’t give you that instant image of me hacking up a lung.
While I was pregnant with Emery I was working. There were some  interesting moments, all the backroom runs to the restroom, having to use the backroom garbage for a back up in case I couldn’t make it or someone was in the restroom. Once I had a Taco Bell episode, before I could say anything my best friend walked into the backroom and immediately knew what had happened. Not my proudest day but it got worst. I have a weak bladder, as a child I would hold my urine for a long time. Who knew it was really such a bad thing? Now if I throw up I most likely will urinate all over myself like an animal. Doing this at work, not awesome.
And just when I thought those days we’re over I felt the sickness take over me while I was at Subway. I sat there trying to control it and let the feeling past but still looking around outside for a garbage can just in case. Each second passing I knew if it didn’t go away I was wasting time and needed to get out of this place fast! I had to run out the door, more than prepared to go all over the street by some unlucky car. Just as I turned there it was, a garbage can and not a second to late. Apparently people were looking at me as I ran out the door. I saved them all their lunch.

Well yesterday was one of those days. I survived 6 months of being episode free in public but it got me. I was tired, grouchy, irritated and starving! After a little shopping Em and I went to Carls Jr. for lunch before heading back to the store. We ate in the parking lot and as my grouchiness melted away with each bite another feeling was over whelming me. “Oh know”, I thought, not here. I tried to let it pass but thinking what am I going to do if it doesn’t. I quickly grabbed the bag and went for it. Sitting there having an episode in a brown bag that was getting soggy in my hand. I prayed the bag wouldn’t fall apart and go all over my lap. To my right a lady had returned to her car and was sitting there! Excuse me lady can’t you see I’m having an episode! Kindly get out of your car and give me some privacy! I opened up my driver door and another lady was walking by. Not to cause a scene I closed the door and continued on my way. Then I heard Emery in the back seat, she was starting to copy my sounds. “Emery the baby makes mommy sick”, I was hoping she didn’t think mommy had some kind of disorder. More hoping my 2-year-old toddler wouldn’t remember these days and think this was the norm.

It’s funny to look back at these stories later but in the moment its the worst. I don’t mind sharing all these crazy stories, I’m a pretty open book if asked a question and I know as bad as this all sounds, I’m not the only one going through these challenging times.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

