Carlos’ Baptismal

Image

This Saturday was a special day for my son, Carlos. It was the day he was accepted into the Church and Baptized as a Roman Catholic. Though the people I know and love are all special to me in my tight-knit circle, I chose two wonderful people to become his Godparents.

Valerie, has been a close friend of mine since Junior year of High School when I moved to Elk Grove, California. It’s been ten years with her in my life. I love her family as much as I love my own, they are loving and connected to the Church. Valerie will be able to guide Carlos in his journey in finding himself and connecting with the Church.
The Godfather, Bryan, is someone my husband and I have known for about 8 years. He was introduced to us at separate times by my late cousin Martin. He’s a trust worthy friend, another person with great morals and understands in hard work and how to give direction in a child’s life. He’s an amazing father, and can be another strong male role model to my son.
These two people have been part of my life for the past 10 years and I want them to officially never be out of me and my children’s life.
The ceremony took place Saturday, October 5th. There were about 30 families, with each to their own pew. The children all did well, but it was evident nap time was upon us. Around the end the children began to fuss. A little boy in front of us fell asleep on his Dads shoulder. At the end Carlos fell asleep on me. I guess 11 o clock is the golden hour for naps.
Afterwards we had a mini celebration at our house with a Nacho Bar and drinks. It was a great way to spend time with our friends. We don’t get to see Bryan and Valerie very often. Bryan now lives in Kentucky with his family and Valerie is 3 hours away in Sacramento California. I didn’t want the weekend to end and have to say goodbye to my friends. The house felt alive with laughter and stories. These are the best things in life.
Soon we will have to make some trips to visit Carlos’ Nino and Nina. Thank you two for everything this weekend and all you have always done for us. Here’s to more years to come!

Officially Nina Valerie & Nino Bryan [on the right side]

Officially Nina Valerie & Nino Bryan [on the right side]

A photo before everyone goes back home. We will miss you both!

A photo before everyone goes back home. We will miss you both!

Nino & Nina

Nino & Nina

Mini photo shoot to capture his Baptismal outfit

Mini photo shoot to capture his Baptismal outfit

<3

One response »

Leave a Reply

