Potty training

Standard
Potty training

Two weeks ago I decided to potty train Carlos using the one week trick. I finally had a week where we weren’t running around all day doing errands. Carlos is the same age Emery was when she stopped wearing diapers. I didn’t blog about potty training Emery but she was half way potty trained at 2. Then I got pregnant and really sick and she back peddled big time. Once Carlos came I had a rough time changing two kids. One day I got really upset about having to stop and change her pooped diaper before leaving the house. I said what I had to say at home and once we got into the truck it was over. While I drove to my mom’s house Emery brought up how she was sorry about pooping herself. I mostly listened and she said, “I’m deciding to not poop or pee in the diaper anymore“. Of course I thought what a wonderful idea and from that conversation she never did. Once Emery sets her mind to an idea she does it.

I’ve only ever heard that a boy is harder to potty train. Well, if Emery basically just decided to go at two, I figured I had some actual work cut out for me. There are many methods and techniques. Carlos didn’t fit into the mold of watching his reaction and running to the restroom. He was really nonchalant about the whole thing. I decided the best thing for us would be bribery. What? Is that bad?

We made a Target trip Friday morning after dropping Emery off at school, and got lots of toys in the dollar section. For some reason we made our way to the toy aisle and Carlos fell in love with a big T-Rex toy. Carlos loves a lot of things but one of his favorite things are T-Rex dinosaurs! Of course it came with a little price tag so we talked it over and decided this toy would be our, no more diapers reward! Carlos knew and told everyone he wanted the big T-Rex toy and he had to poo poo toilet to get it.

I like to use the toilet seat top instead of the little fake toilets when I potty train. I feel like it gets them ready to go on the big toilet so its not intimidating especially when you have to do a store potty run. Also, I don’t like the idea of dumping crap out of a poop bowl and having to wash that. Kinda defeats the purpose of me having a little break from changing diapers during the process.

On Monday I printed out a Everybody Poops cartoon image of Batman (his favorite super hero). We talked about how he is using the restroom and Carlos colored it. Before Monday the family spent months saying how we all go poo poo toilet and don’t pee pee our pants. I used our newest cousin baby Dominick as an example as a little baby who needs diapers. I felt like that was me trying to shame him so I used that example with caution and tried not to use it with anger.

20150831_080919

All set up, each time Carlos went to the bathroom he would get to pick his reward or get hand stamp!

Found some goodies at Michaels summer clearance section too!

Found some goodies at Michaels summer clearance section too!

He loves getting his hand stamped

He loves getting his hand stamped

20150831_100834

There was a few little bumps in the road, one or two pee accidents in the beginning and about 4 dirty underwear and 2 poop on the floor incidents. One of them happened one morning when I was cleaning the house and didn’t check on him. Luckily it was a super easy clean up, he was sorry (his classic “sorry mom. sorry again mom” line) and we both learned something. He would try harder because big boys don’t poop themselves and he couldn’t get his T-Rex reward if he pooped his pants. I learned Carlos is a morning dropper.

20150831_100853

When Emery was in school Carlos would be with out pants so he felt awkward and didn’t have that security to want to have an accident in his underwear.

Any time we left the house I had his little seat in a tote with us. We took it to Papa and Grandma’s house and to gymnastics. I didn’t want to have to put him in a diaper at all (besides bed time) and have him confused or only potty training half the day.

Within the first week he got the hang out it and pooped underwear where a thing of the past. He caught on so fast it surprised us. We made a second trip to Target to refill his bucket.

20150905_10453520150905_115200

Carlos also got a small T-Rex toy for finally going poo poo toilet (which is the hardest part of potty training). He also has been taking his nap with no bottoms on or in his underwear without any accidents. I find that to be really impressive. The hardest part I would think, would be teaching a child not to pee at night but I am super lucky that both Emery and Carlos (knock on wood) have never given me any trouble with peeing the bed (something I struggled with as a child).

He was excited to get some new T-Rex's but decided he only wanted one and not two

He was excited to get some new T-Rex’s but decided he only wanted one and not two (what kind of kid demands only one new toy?)

After the second week of potty training and consistent poo poo in the toilet use, Carlos earned his big reward!

Dad surprised him with his big reward after his nap!

Dad surprised him with his big reward after his nap!

Have you ever seen a child so happy? You earned it kid!

Have you ever seen a child so happy? You earned it kid!

So two weeks later, I am making it official, my child is potty trained! A major milestone in becoming a big kid. While I don’t miss changing diapers it’s one more thing making me realize he’s our last little baby and he’s growing daily. I’m proud of you kid!

Leave a Reply

